top of page

Putting Words To Music



 
A writer finds inspiration everywhere. Teddy Raye explains how putting together a music playlist is a great way to get inside your character's head.
 

"For as long as I can remember, music has had a profound influence on me. I grew up in a musical family, where listening to music and making music were extremely important. My dad loved jazz, and he would play it at ear-splitting volume; I was never told to 'turn down that racket!' in my home.

As I grew older, music became both a confident and a way of life. I earned a Bachelor's Degree in Music, and even taught in public schools. Nothing was so satisfying as seeing a student 'get it' when I played something amazing, like a Bach prelude or a Billie Holiday number.

Music has always affected me deeply; it will make me cry at the drop of a hat. Even if it isn't necessarily sad, I still get quite tearful over certain songs, because they stir my emotions. I often embarrass myself at a public concert, because I'll be in tears over something really upbeat, just because it's so perfectly played or it brings back certain memories. It is the ultimate universal language, and it can soothe your spirit, and give colour to your world.

I found out long ago that music was also a way to 'see' the action or feelings I was trying to convey in my writing. Hearing a song out of the blue can often trigger an idea or a scene, or give me an idea how a certain situation should play out. I always refer to these moments as 'Muse-driven' - this almost mystical joining of the right song just when I need inspiration most.

I have one author friend who puts together her playlist before she even starts. She has an idea of where her story is going, and the music helps her get there.

I actually find that my playlist comes together after the first draft. I've shoveled my sand around in the box for awhile; now it's time to start building the castles. Music is a great way for me to get into a proper mood, or find the right emotion. And I also think it serves as a marker for anyone who plans to read the story.

Give your readers your playlist - it sets the mood and the tone for them, and pulls them into the moment with you."

 

Here is Teddy's playlist for Her Minder, Book One: The Doctor:


Songs in the Key of Dahlra Gar (Click On Each Title):

bottom of page